User:Drift211534sdf564dsf

From Indivisibilities Wiki
Revision as of 12:58, 21 January 2012 by Drift211534sdf564dsf (talk | contribs) (Created page with "Want to know how to navigate, select, format and perform other simple functions in Microsoft [http://excelhotkeys.net/ excel hotkeys] quickly and efficiently? Here are some must...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Want to know how to navigate, select, format and perform other simple functions in Microsoft excel hotkeys quickly and efficiently? Here are some must-know shortcut keys to improve your productivity...

NAVIGATING IN excel shortcuts

1. Go to end of work area

Ctrl + End

This shortcut will move your active cell to the bottom right corner of your data.

2. Go to start of work area

Ctrl + Home

This shortcut will move your active cell to the top left corner of your data. This will usually be cell A1, unless you have turned on Freeze Panes, in which case this shortcut will take you to the top left cell of the unfrozen section of your data.

3. Go to previous screen above

Pg Up

This shortcut key will move your active cell up one screen at a time, remaining in the same column.

4. Go to next screen below

Pg Dn

This shortcut key will move your active cell down one screen at a time, remaining in the same column

SELECTING DATA

5. Select multiple individual cells (or ranges of cells)

Ctrl + Click

Holding down the Ctrl key whilst selecting cells (or ranges of cells) allows you to select multiple, non-adjacent cells at the same time.

6. Select a large range of cells

Click + Shift + Click

To select a large range (rectangular area of adjacent cells) click in the cell in the top left corner of the area to select, hold down the Shift key, then click in the cell in the bottom right corner of the area to select.

7. Select the whole spreadsheet

Ctrl + A

This shortcut key will select the entire spreadsheet. Alternatively click on the button to the left of column header A.

8. Select a range of cells

Ctrl + *

This shortcut key selects the current range of cells i.e. a rectangular area of cells with no adjacent data. Note: Use the * key on the number pad of your keyboard. If you do not have a number pad then you will need to use the shortcut Ctrl + Shift + 8. FORMATTING

9. Format data in active cell(s) as Bold

Ctrl + B

10. Format data in active cell(s) as Italic

Ctrl + I

11. Format data in active cell(s) as Underlined

Ctrl +U OTHER SHORTCUTS

12. Create a new line within a cell

Alt + Enter

Using Alt and Enter will create a new line in a cell, just like creating a new line in a document. If you are using excel diet template 2007 or later version, you will be able to expand the formula bar to view multiple lines in a cell. 13. Open a new workbook

Ctrl + N

14. Open an existing workbook

Ctrl + O

15. Save current workbook

Ctrl + S

16. Print worksheet

Ctrl + P

17. Undo last action

Ctrl + Z

18. Copy selected cells

Ctrl + C

This shortcut key selects cells for copying. The second step is to select where to copy this data to (Paste).

19. Move selected cells

Ctrl + X

This shortcut key selects cells for moving (Cut). The second step is to select where to move this data to (Paste).

20. Paste selected cells

Ctrl + V Microsoft excel 2003 has become the spreadsheet of choice for over 80% of corporate businesses around the world. One of the clear advantages of using Microsoft Excel 2007 over other spreadsheeting programs is the ability to have multiple people entering information into the same spreadsheet. This function in Microsoft Excel training is called Shared Workbooks and we will go through how to setup this capability in this article.

If a user tries to open a Workbook that is already open, then they normally get a message saying that the File is locked by a certain user and would you like to open the file in Read only mode. However, you can open a workbook in shared mode by following these steps. First open the file that you want to share, then once the workbook is open, go to the Tools menu and choose Share Workbook from the drop down menu.

The Share Workbook dialog box will now appear. To enable sharing, you simply click once on the Allow Sharing check box, so that it has a tick. Once you do this other people will now be able to use your Excel training workbook whilst you are working on it.

However, there are some other parameters that can be set at the same time. For other options, simply choose the Advanced tab. There are three core parameters that you need to be aware of. The first is the length of time you will store the history in your file.

Microsoft Excel allows you to store over 32000 days worth of changes to your Excel file, however, there is a catch. All of that information is stored in your file and consequently your file will grow exponentially. Most organisations generally work on a maximum of 30 days and that is the default, however the value entered simply depends on your workbooks requirements. You can choose the second option which says, Don't Keep Change History. This simply ensures no changes are maintained.

A second option that is available is the Update Changes option. This function simply allows you to define how often the spreadsheet changes are updated. The most common element users use is the Update Every 15 minutes. What this does is to force a save and filter through the data to all the users. One point to consider is that if you workbook is relatively large and you are working on a slow computer you may want to increase that time to 30 minutes.

The last area of concern is the Save Changes function. This defines whose changes will override who's. There are two options available which say, Ask me Which Changes Win and The Changes Being Saved Win. Which option you choose really depends on the type of workbook you have created.

To simplify your work with Excel 2007 worksheets, find faster and easier ways to select and format your data.

Quickly Display the Format Cells Dialog Box

One way to format a cell or range of cells is to choose the Format Cells command.

In addition to the Home tab in the Ribbon (Excel 2010 and Excel 2007) or the Formatting toolbar (Excel 2003), try these other shortcuts to apply formatting in Excel:

   Keyboard: Select a cell, then press [Ctrl] + 1 to display the Format Cells dialog box.
   Mouse: Select a cell, press [Shift] + F10 or right-click a cell and select Format Cells from the shortcut menu.

Easily Focus Attention on a Worksheet Range

If you ever need to zero in on a specific range in Excel, there's an easy way to magnify the data so that you focus all your attention on it.

   Select the appropriate range.
   Excel 2010 and Excel 2007: choose the View tab, select Zoom to Selection. In Excel 2003, simply open the Zoom drop-down list on the Standard toolbar and choose Fit Selection.

Excel magnifies the view of the data by whatever percentage is necessary to fill the viewable area of the file's window, up to 400%. When you want to return to the normal view of the worksheet, simply choose the View tab and choose 100%. In Excel 2003, reopen the Zoom dialog box and choose 100%.

Enhance Text Layout with Orientation and Wrap Formatting

In many worksheets, horizontal space can be a premium. One solution is to put a new angle on your data especially if column headings need more space than the data in the same column. To customize the orientation of text in a cell:

   Select the cell(s) that contain text that you want to change; text can be in a chart or worksheet.
   Choose Format Cells from one of the shortcuts above and click on the Alignment tab.
   Enter 90 in the Orientation panel's Degrees spin box or click into the Orientation example to set the direction.
   Click OK to apply.

Content in Excel worksheets is not limited to numbers and formulas. In addition to column headings and row labels, text may be critical for comments, notes, descriptions, and other important entries.

To automatically wrap text in a cell to maximize the layout and display:

   Type the following text into a cell: "These tips are fun and easy!".
   Press [Ctrl] + 1 and select the Alignment tab.
   Select the Wrap text checkbox.
   Click OK.

In Excel 2010 and Excel 2007, you can also find Wrap Text on the Home tab of the Ribbon (Alignment group).

Select the Current Region

In Excel, the current region or list is a range of cells containing data bounded by blank rows and columns.

Try any of these tricks to select the current region or list:

   Select a cell inside the range and press [Ctrl] + [Shift] + (when using the on the numeric keypad, just press [Ctrl] + ), or
   Select a cell inside the range and press [Ctrl] + A (you can still use [Ctrl] + [Shift] + ) Press [Ctrl] + A once or twice again to Select All (not just the list or table range).

Prevent Moving to the Next Cell After Typing

Type data into a cell, press [Enter] and the default action in Excel is for your pointer to move down a row. It is easy to change this default either temporarily or permanently.

To prevent moving to the next cell (one time) after typing:

   Press [Ctrl] + [Enter] (instead of [Enter]), or
   If you want your pointer to move within a specific range but just not down to the next cell, you can also highlight a range of cells before typing. Then, when you type an entry and press [Enter], your pointer will move to the next available cell based on your selection which may be down or to the right.

To change/set the move selection after pressing [Enter]:

In Excel 2010 and Excel 2007:

   Excel 2010: File > Options. Excel 2007: Microsoft Office Button > Excel Options.
   Pick the Advanced category from the left.
   Change the direction under the option After pressing Enter, move selection or uncheck to if you want your pointer to stay in place.

In Excel 2003:

   Pick Tools > Options, and then the Edit tab.
   Select the desired direction from the Move selection after Enter Direction dropdown list.

Try these shortcuts to make it even easier to select and format in your Excel worksheets.